The Conservation Commission submits its Annual Report as follows. The
Commission is a volunteer board appointed by the Board of Selectmen,
consisting of seven voting members, mandated under M.G.L. Chapter 131,
Section 40, and Abington Town By-Laws, Chapter 171, :t the purposes of
administration and implementation of the Massachusetts Wetlands Protection

Our meetings are held on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month and
are open to the Public. In the year 2005, the Conservation Commission
received eighteen Notices of Intent, nine Requests for Determination, issued
eight Certificates of Compliance, three Enforcement Orders, two Abbreviated
Notices of Resource Area Delineation, amended six Orders of Condition and
held many informal meetings. The filing of a
Notice of Intent or a Request for
often requires several continuations before a hearing is
closed, as well as a site walk. The Commission turned in $7,430.00 received in
filing fees.

The Board is involved in the actual visiting of the sites where work will be
done in the buffer zone or the wetlands area. The Board also responds to
wetlands violations reported by citizens, involving site walks and frequent
communications with the Department of Environmental Protection.

The members of the Commission are required to attend workshops
sponsored by the state's Department of Environmental Protection in various
locations. The Commission hosted a speaker from the Manomet Center for
Conservation Sciences at one of its meetings this year for a very informative
session. The Commission has initiated having wetlands markers installed on
certain properties under the Order of Conditions that is issued to a project at
the completion of a
Notice of Intent hearing, indicating the lot is under the
jurisdiction of the
Wetlands Protection Act.

                        Respectfully submitted,

                        Alex Bezanson, Chairman
                        James Connolly, Vice Chair
                        John Curley
                        Nathan Elliott       
                        Frank Mackiewicz, Associate Member
                        Todd Murray
                        Hal Norton
                        Christine Yardley, Associate Member
                        Richard Yardley
Annual Reprts
Back to Top
Conservation Commission - 2005 Annual Report
Veterans Memorial
Town Library
Our Town:
Town Offices
Town Hall