The Senior Center Committee is a sub-committee of the Council on
Aging Board, formed for the purpose of fund-raising and publicizing
our proposed project. During this past year, we successfully held both
a bean supper and a spaghetti supper. The Taste of Abington, in which
almost every restaurant in town very generously provided a specialty
item, was also a great success. We had raffles of various items donated
by members of the community, we sold mountains of candy bars, and
we participated in Abington Pride Day.

The members of our Committee worked very hard to publicize the
importance of both the Town Meeting vote in November and the
special election on December 2, 2006. Both votes were in our favor,
and we can now proceed with the construction of our long-Senior

We especially need to thank:
Abington Alehouse for their donation of $5,000 of gift certificates, as
well as the receipts from a raffle for plasma TV.

The Knights of Columbus and Abington Housing Authority, for facility

Wal-Mart, for their matching grants and community gifts.

North Abington Cooperative Bank, for providing us with a location to
sell our items and for their financial advice.

Members of the Christmas House Tour Committee, not only for the
$31,000 financial windfall for the Senior Center, but for their important,
multi-generational support.

Our own Mary Donlan, a member of this Committee from the very
beginning in 1998, who outlined a brief history of our efforts and asked
Town Meeting attendees for a positive vote.

All known and anonymous donors who continue to help us.

We were sorry to lose our spokesperson and co-chairperson, Eleanor
Peck, who moved to Maine in October.    Diane Keith has been
appointed to fill that vacancy.

Our plans for this coming year will be to continue raising funds to
furnish the Senior Center.

Members and Associate Members of the Senior Center Committee:
David Klein, Janice King, Nancy Lehtonen,  Lorraine Leventuk, Jack
Libby, Treasurer Joanne MacNeill,  Florence Severin, Betty Slinger
George Whiting, Jr.

Betty Berry, Norma Clark, Bill Cox,
Joanne Curtis, Co-Chair/Secretary,  Mary Donlan, Rita Estey,
Joe lacobucci, Diane Keith, Co-Chair; Kate Kelley, Bill Kendall

Respectfully submitted,

Joanne Curtis, Co-Chairperson
Top of Page
Annual Reprts
Abington Senior Center Committee - 2006 Annual Report
Veterans Memorial
Town Library
Our Town: